Charred Broccoli

wpid-20130112_195632.jpgThis is an oldie, but goodie from our family favorites! Paleo Comfort Foods introduced me to a new and crunchy kind of broccoli that I can really enjoy, rather than endure. I don’t personally like broccoli raw or steamed – I’m a picky eater. However, when it’s salty and charred on a few sides, it’s crispy and salty and delicious! This is also how I get my kids to scarf down some greens.

In addition, it cleans up easy and is very quick to cook and prepare. Hope you enjoy!

Ingredients:

– 2 bunches (or 3-4 crowns) of broccoli chopped into florets

– salt and pepper to taste

– olive oil

– minced garlic (optional)

Instructions:

1. Prepare a cookie sheet by wrapping it in foil.

2. Preheat oven to 500 degrees.

3. Put cookie sheet in the oven during the preheating. You want it hot!

4. Once preheating is done, you have two options:

a) Pull cookie sheet out (remember it’s hot!) and drop broccoli florets onto it, drizzle with olive oil, season with salt and pepper, and sprinkle minced garlic on top.  Place back in oven to cook.

b) Place broccoli into a plastic bag, or bowl, with approx. 3 tablespoons of olive oil and toss well to coat. Sprinkle salt and pepper and add garlic to the bag/bowl, and mix to combine. Add broccoli to hot cookie sheet. You’ll hear the sizzle!

5. Bake at 500 degrees for about 9-11 minutes.

*If you want to brown the broccoli on multiple sides, shake cookie sheet to move broccoli around, but not off the sheet, and continue to bake for 2-3 more minutes, until crispy and tender, but not burned.

6. Serve and enjoy*!

*Note: It is important that you serve it soon after removing it from oven. When you put a lid/cover over the broccoli, it goes from crispy deliciousness to steamed softness in no time.

One response »

  1. Teresa Balian says:

    Yes, will have to try. Need to use up that big bag I bought today. I do love it steamed and with lemon/butter though.

    Thanks again for coming tonight. After you left the wind died down. I rocked in my chair on the deck outside with a glass of wine and my dogs by my side ’til 9:30pm. Just listened to the water rushing and all the other nature sounds. Wish y’all could have been here. Both my girls fell asleep on the couch as soon as you left.

    Love, Terry

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

