micro cake

So, first off, and apology for my second hiatus! (If you are not interested, please skip down to bottom for recipe.)

Life has thrown me some curve balls!  I am sure you can relate! When last I posted, I was watching my friend’s two adorable little boys (ages 2 & 4), making three round trips to my kids’ school (25 minutes away) each day, and living life with one good arm. And now we moved and live in a old schoolhouse 25 minutes south and are enjoying playing “farm”!

“So why did you buy a new house and move Jamie?”, you might ask if you know me closely. And there within lies one of my many excuses to blog silence. I am going to go into further detail about our new casa/farm/ranchita, but let me first remind you that, just like the blog title, my family and I are all about living outside of the ordinary. Living in front of God in a way that is bold and basic at the same time.

Ok, so to catch you up, as quickly as possible so you can get to the awesome recipe I tried last night, I am going to do a recap. Because truly some of the choices we make cause people to scratch their heads. I can hear my husband, now, saying, “Jamie, talk in bullet form!” A romantic gesture, I know, but I am not making this stuff up!

Ok, so in “bullet form”, here we go:

  • Decided to live outside ordinary & stay home and quit my job almost two years ago.
  • Decided to live outside ordinary & sell the completely remodeled larger house, in a fabulous suburban neighborhood, to save money. *We gutted and had been remodeling for 6 years and sold it just as soon as the renovations were finished, or rather, finished the renovations so we could put it on the market. Definitely outside ordinary! P.S. The house sold quickly and gave us more than expected.
  • Decided live outside ordinary & move into our rental property that was vacant and needed some TLC. *The change in the house and neighborhood was huge for us.
  • Decided to live outside ordinary & stay true to Dave Ramsey’s principles and throw extra money toward the mortgage and chip away at our singular item of debt.
  • Decided to live outside ordinary & try our best to stay long enough to pay off the home. *This is where we found a problem.
  • Realized we were trying to fit a round peg into a square hole. On and off, with no hurry, we browsed around online and around the county looking for what would be a good fit and a true fantasy: A home on one acre, with less than 2000 sq. feet, no basement, mature trees, great character, not too close to neighbors, & not requiring much more than what were putting towards the rental house.  In Utah County, these attributes are hard to come by – like finding a needle in a hay stack. And wanting no basement alone, puts us in the “You’re crazy!” category. But we thought, “Man, this with complete the trifecta and people will really think we are nuts!”
  • On a Friday night, we decided to go see a house we saw posted online, not thinking anything of it. Needless to say, the early 1900’s schoolhouse fit the fantasy list and was in a fabulous setting and seduced my husband and children. I was a little apprehensive, but really felt their unity was a huge indicator that this was the house for us.
  • Shortly after, we made an offer that was accepted and we spruced up our rental property and sold it shortly after, again, for way more than expected or listed. Gosh, God is so good!
  • So we moved 25 minutes further away in late April and I spent the rest of the month getting up earlier, driving 30 minutes away to get those adorable boys, and going to and fro my kids at school for the last month of the school year. It was crazy!
  • Now, school is out, summer is in, and we are loving it!!! Smaller 3 bedroom 1.5 bath home, garage, shed, pole barn, hay shed, two sheep, 2 rabbits, 10 chickens (we had those already), and two dogs (we had those already too), all on 1.13 acres. I am painting and planting and slowing down my “get it done” attitude and incorporating a bit more relaxation into my life. We were looking for greater simplicity and a slower pace, and where we are is just the ticket! Farm life rocks!

So I am here, trying new recipes, reconnecting, and now gaining use of my crappy right arm! So excited!

Now for the recipe…

My family was really wanting dessert last night and I had very little ingredients, but I did have these items in stock. It was quick, delicious, and microwaveable!

Microwave Coffee Cake in a Mug

by PaleOMG

Prep time:  3 mins
Cook time:  3 mins
Total time:  6 mins
Serves: 1 *I did this four times for each of us.

Ingredients

For the cake
  • 1 tablespoon grass fed butter, melted -I used Kerrygold butter (you could coconut oil as well) (I used coconut oil)
  • 1 heaping tablespoon coconut sugar (I used agave)
  • 1 tablespoon applesauce
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg, whisked
  • 2 tablespoons almond flour/meal
  • 1 tablespoon coconut flour
  • ¼ teaspoon cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
For the topping
  • 2 tablespoons grass fed butter, at room temperature or slightly cold (I used coconut oil)
  • 1 tablespoon almond flour/meal
  • 1 tablespoon coconut sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon cinnamon
For the whipped cream
  • 1 (7 ounce) can of full fat coconut milk, stored in fridge overnight (I used Thai kitchen)
  • ½ teaspoon maple syrup

Instructions

  1. Mix all cake ingredients in a mug and mix well.
  2. Place all topping ingredients in a bowl and use your hands to pinch the ingredients together.
  3. Add topping ingredients on top of cake ingredients. Place in microwave and cook for 3 minutes. Let sit to slightly cool.
  4. While the cake is cooking, place the solid cream that has hardened at the top of the can in a bowl and whisk together with maple syrup.
  5. Top cake with whipped cream. Eat up. Amazing. Truly amazing.

Link to the recipe source: http://paleomg.com/microwave-coffee-cake-in-a-mug/

Leave a Reply

