image

I made this Health-Bent recipe for the first time last night (I am a fan of breakfast for dinner), and all of us loved it! I went easy on the hot sauce and made two batches, because quite frankly, my family eats a lot!

I made one batch as described in the recipe, and then I made my second batch in a skillet that was not oven-safe. However, I was able to poach the egg by simply covering the skillet with a glass lid. Both ways were excellent! I hope you enjoy this as much as we did!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 lb breakfast sausage
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, diced
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • handful cilantro
  • hot sauce
  • raw cheese, optional
  • s & p

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400ºF.
  2. In an oven safe skillet, we used cast iron, crumble and brown the sausage over medium heat.
  3. Once it’s brown, use a slotted spoon to remove the sausage and let it hang out while we cook the sweet potatoes. Try to reserve as much of the grease as possible.
  4. Toss the sweet potatoes into the sausage grease and let them get crispy and cooked through.
  5. Add the sausage back into the pan.
  6. Make a few wells in the pan–one well for each egg. Crack your eggs into the wells.
  7. Place the skillet in the oven. We’re just baking the skillet long enough for the eggs to set, about 5 minutes.
  8. Now, turn the oven to broil and hit up the top side of the eggs for a few minutes, but don’t let the yolk cook all the way through–unless you don’t like runny yolks. But man, oh man, the runny yolks go down really nicely with the crispy sweet potatoes. Just sayin’.
  9. Remove the pan from the oven and douse the whole thing with avocado, cilantro and hot sauce.
  10. Serve by scooping out an egg, along with its neighboring goodies, with a large spoon.

Link to the recipe source: http://www.health-bent.com/pork/paleo-cowboy-breakfast-skillet

3 responses »

  1. Danielle Risinger says:

    I am so excited to start following your blog. I am making 5 of the recipes posted on here this next week and we are SO looking forward to it. It has been so hard for me to find variety with Paleo (we only started eating this way about a month ago) and I find myself cooking the same thing week after week. I just ordered the Comfort Food book and another one that has 30 minute meals with great reviews. Thanks for sharing your kitchen with us. I may have to repost the recipes and my pictures to facebook because I have a lot of people asking how we eat. Im actually excited to cook this week!!!

    • Danielle, that’s so cool! It has made a huge difference in our lives! And with my shoulder being so temperamental, I can still keep the weight down without doing the exercise I’d like to be doing. And so the combination of CrossFit and Paleo is just exceptional! Please let me know which ones you tried and whether or not you liked or disliked it. Love the feedback! Also, let me know if you have any questions. I only post recipes I have personally tried. Have fun with it!

  2. Tina says:

    I loooove huevos rancheros! I’m going to need to try this one out at some point!

    Thanks for sharing!
    -Tina from http://ohsnapletseat.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

