image

Have split chicken breasts you need to cook? You can buy them for like $0.99/lb., so you should!

Anyways, I have baked, broiled, and pan-fried them, but tonight I was SERIOUSLY craving my mom’s chicken tacos! As a kid, my step dad and I would compete for who could eat the most, the fastest (I know sexy, huh?). Don’t ask about how many I could eat either!  I so LOVED the crispy corn tortillas full of moist shredded chicken, that was dressed with refried beans, lettuce (see, it was healthy! Ha, Ha!) and cheese – YUM!!!

Well, I can’t eat that way and see my feet, so tonight I tried a Paleo version of my beloved favorite and it turned out great! Even my 9-year old said they tasted like my mom’s tacos; well,of course, minus the tortillas, beans, and cheese.

Here’s what I did…

Ingredients:

  • 4 split chicken breasts
  • chicken bouillon cube or paste
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper to taste

Other:

  • 1 head of butter lettuce
  • guacamole of your choice
  • salsa of your choice
  • cilantro, chopped

Instructions:

  1. Simply boil you chicken in a large pot with one or two bouillon cubes or 1 tablespoon of paste.
  2. Allow to boil until cooked all the way through and tender.
  3. Let pot cool and begin shredding when the chicken is cool enough to handle.
  4. Shred the chicken.
  5. I like the fried texture and taste from my mom’s tacos, so after I removed all the chicken from the pot and poured out the chicken broth, I added olive oil to the pot. When the oil was hot, I added my chicken back in and fried it a bit.
  6. I then served the chicken in butter lettuce leaves with my favorite salsa, guacamole, and cilantro leaves.

ENJOY!!!

Finished Product

1) Removed from pot and shredded.

2) Fried the chicken. Olive oil in center. When hot, I mixed it around to fry it.

Leave a Reply

