The most asked question we get is:

“How do you eat Paleo on a budget?”

This is a key question because we all know that it’s cheaper to eat low quality/low nutrient food, than high quality/high nutrient food. The first thing I want to say is that Paleo is going to cost more – there’s no way around it. Having said that, our family is committed to living on a budget (remember we are Dave Ramsey fans) and it is a priority to us. However, it is also very important to us to take care of our bodies so that we don’t end up with serious disease and physical challenges in the future, and we flat out LIKE EATING PALEO! In addition, our “fat gene” wired bodies do not allow us to eat like the common family and see health benefits too. So for us it is one or the other – a life choice, just like anything else we encounter here on earth.

So what I am saying is that I totally fight the battle of the budget vs. a Paleo diet! Now although I can’t make your choices for you, I can tell you what has helped me thus far, and then give you the opportunity to tell me what you do to meet your budget goals!

Before I share, there are a few things to keep in mind: I believe I represent someone that is “middle of the road” when it comes to Paleo. Meaning I am not super anal and strict, but I don’t consider myself “loosey goosey” either. I am an average mom and person, trying to realistically follow the Paleo lifestyle. Having said that, I rarely have the money to buy grass-fed meats, although I understand the benefits, and there are only a few nitrate, nitrite free meats I buy as well. I also do not buy organic produce. These things help me to stick to my budget.

Ok, here we go…

  1. I do not buy meat that is not on sale.

      • I buy the amount of meat I know we will eat and then get my recipes later – not the other way around.
  2. I try to stick to the fresh fruits and veggies that are on sale as well.

      • With the exceptions of bananas.
  3. I do not frequent Costco and Sam’s Club stores.

      • I do not have the will power to stick to the critical items such as eggs, etc. and it simply wrecks my budget. My budget is for the next 2 weeks and so I do not have money to stock things up. Every thing I buy needs to be used during the 2 week time span before my hubby gets paid again. And, if Brandon comes with me to Costco, I know it’s gonna cost me! đŸ™‚
  4. I check my ads to know who has what on sale.

      • This is especially helpful with things like coconut milk. If I see that it’s on sale, I will go to a store I rarely enter just so I can get a sweet deal on a regularly stocked item.
  5. Meal planning is SO helpful!

      • This can be especially true when you buy a ton of groceries and yet they seem to disappear overnight! That means that at certain times of the day, someone, or “some ones”, are probably eating when they don’t need to, or they are eating an expensive item too often. So if this is your household, plan snacks too! I know this is time consuming! I am also in the planning phase to be able to provide my personal meal plans, to all our OO readers, as a help! There are some services out there that do that, such as Paleo Plan, but once I get better at writing down my meals, I happy to share them!

Ok, so now that I have shared,

Let me hear how you are following a Paleo diet – while on a budget!

I can’t wait to hear how ya do it!

4 responses »

  1. brookefrost says:

    Thanks for this post Jamie! This definitely has been a struggle as we have transitioned to a Paleo diet. We actually had some extra in our budget during December (weird, huh?) and most of it went towards stocking up on some things and trying to get some meat stocked up in the freezer.

    But, now we are back to our regular grocery budget. Saturday was our first time and we went $10 over and I still don’t feel like we have enough food for the week! I’m going to start doing what you do; buy the meat that is on sale and then plan the meals.

    Thanks for all of these tips!

  2. rose says:

    I purchased an inexpensive coffee/spice grinder for about $18.00. I keep almonds in the freezer and make my own almond flour and meal as I need it.

    • Great Rose! I have a coffee grinder I rarely use. Thanks for your tip! Where do you find almonds cheapest? In bulk?

      Thanks again!

      • rose says:

        I was never a big bread eater but love crackers and keep some kind of fruit bread or cookies made for my morning coffee. So the almond flour I make is perfect for those 3 things. The coffee grinder makes it fine. I sift it and throw the bigger pieces back in the grinder. I live out in the middle of nowhere. I just pick them up at our local grocery store in a bulk bag in the produce department. It’s half the cost of buying the prepared almond flour. I freeze whole almonds for blanching and slices for the more rustic baked goods.

Leave a Reply

