As a way to help, we are answering questions we get about our Paleo journey and here is our attempt at answering them…

Question: Did you find the transition to Paleo difficult?

Answer: Yes absolutely! I grew up eating Hamburger Helper, on top of white rice, with corn as a side. Yes! My favorite bag of chips was Lay’s Sour Cream and Onion and I would eat at least half a bag full while watching TV. My favorite cereal was Cocoa Pebbles and I love processed meat! Gross, huh? But what can I say, I grew up on fried Spam! My favorite part of breakfast has always been the potatoes, yum! So yes, it was hard, but I will say that there were a few things that made it easier for me. One of them was Financial Peace University; basically a Dave Ramsey plan for getting out of debt and being completely debt-free. He addresses the issue of discipline and self-control. So following his principles required Brandon and I to say “no” to things that we wanted, but didn’t need. I believe it’s the same with our food choices. Our culture lacks impulse control and, in my opinion, we have fooled ourselves into thinking our wants are our needs – simply because they are so easy to come by and are fully accessible.

When I first started, my body WANTED the tortillas, the bread, the crackers, the fried rice, but what Paleo has taught me is that my body doesn’t need it and functions better without it! After withdrawing from carbs, I now find that I get dizzy, light-headed, and “drunk” feeling when I cheat and consume a carb packed meal. I feel lethargic and it takes at least an hour to wear off. But I didn’t know that until I took them away and then added them back in. And as I have learned more, I realize that the “carbs” and “fiber” and vitamins that you need comes from eating fresh vegetables and fruit packed with good carbs and real fiber and nutrients that aren’t injected into my food to cover up the fact that it lacks nutritional and beneficial sustenance. If manufacturer’s need to ADD fiber and vitamins, it means that it doesn’t have fiber and vitamins. I don’t want to eat something that is so stripped of nutrients that they need to manually be added back in. So again, it was hard, but it was doable!

My goal was to keep a steady pace by running and completing the race – not by making it there the fastest, dying ugly, and falling off the wagon before I reached the finish line. I eliminated one food at a time, and then a few at a time, and when I saw the results in my appearance and energy levels, my progress sped up and kept me going. So just know it is hard at first, but gets easier with time – just like anything else you do in life! But I believe often times, and in this case, the hard thing is the best thing! And, to be different, you have to be…different! And if it was easy everyone would do it, but it’s not, so very few are willing to do the hard work. But BE ENCOURAGED  – it is WORTH IT! And lastly, I want to challenge you to think about the cost of bad diet and nutrition, if not now than later on:

  • Diabetes & Insulin Injections
  • High Blood Pressure & Cholestrol, accompanied by medications
  • Heart Problems & Cancer
  • Alzheimer’s
  • Parkinsons

According the research done by Robb Wolf and Prof. Loren Cordain, a Paleo diet impacts these health issues in a huge way – a positive way! Go to this web address http://robbwolf.com/faq/#basics and have fun doing some investigating! I personally know several people who no longer need their medications, even related to asthma.

I also want to remind all of our readers, that our thoughts are derived from passion that comes from personal experience, and we are not judging anyone,  but we do feel strongly that eating Paleo is the best thing for your body!

It might also be helpful to view “My Starting Point” and “Eating Paleo Tip #1“, or “Why Paleo?

About mcferrenfamily

Outside Ordinary is a place where I can share recipes, tools, and resources that have helped me live in a more healthy way, financially, physically, and spiritually, and emotionally. Thanks for peeking into my little world!

2 responses »

  1. Jennifer Paulsen says:

    Hi Jamie! Ok, so I think I really want to try eating Paleo so I have been doing research and printing out recipes and listening to podcasts and just read The Paleo Diet by Cordain. I think I’m so overwhelmed on where to start. I have already eliminated gluten from my diet and most dairy. I think what I need is a step by step daily menu so I don’t have to think about what to make or eat for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. Do you know of a resource that helps with that? I know I sound like I’m three years old, but I think I just need a kick start! Thank you!!!! Jen Paulsen

    • Hey Jen! I apologize for the delay! Day by day, I know of Paleo Plan. Beyond that I don’t, but search the web! This Paleo thing is really catching on! It can be very overwhelming at first, but don’t worry! Building a new habit is difficult, no matter what new habit it is. I need to give you my number or email because I am SO happy to be helping you along!!! Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

