Before I started to eat Paleo, there were some roadblocks in my way! So if you are interested in trying it out, and have some roadblocks too, I pray this helps!

Here, were my initial responses to the Paleo lifestyle, followed by my responses now, after going “Paleo”:

  1. Paleo is totally UNREALISTIC and IMPRACTICAL.

    • Eating Paleo is very doable and gets easier with time! There are lots of great sites and blogs with killer recipes that can assist you in eating clean food! And having friends that eat Paleo is such a help! Reach out if you need/want to and feel free to ask questions!
    • It gets tricky when you go out to eat, but keeping the basics in mind (no grain, no beans, no dairy, no processed sugars) and depending on how strict you want to be, there is no reason you can’t eat eggs and bacon (without the toast) or meat and veggies on the road. Most salad dressings have  dairy or sugar in them, so you just need to decide how much it matters to you. If it bothers you, ask for oil and vinegar. I recommend working in your own kitchen first and avoiding lots of eating out for the first few weeks. And remember, fast food is not good for you (whether you do Paleo or not, I think we all know that). The temptation alone will hinder you!
  2. Paleo people are crazy! They may look amazing, but they are nuts!

    • Eating Paleo is different! Way different! Anytime you take something to the extreme, you are called a lunatic – no matter what the cause, so I have learned to embrace the weird, dumb-founded looks I get from friends and family, or the face that says, “you are out of your mind!”. But one thing is clear to me, every person I know (including myself and my husband) who has made the change looks better, feels better, and does not regret their decision to make the change.
  3. Paleo eaters make me feel small and foolish for not eating “their” way.

    • You see, I had physical and personal insecurities that hindered me from starting sooner. I found that their success impacted how I felt about myself and I couldn’t be happy for them because their choices made me feel diminished. So sad, but true! This negative thought, was simply something I needed to overcome and stop being sensitive about. You see no one ever told me I was small or foolish, or looked down to me. It was all in my head. I think most of us lack confidence, not insecurity, with how we look. And one of the things Paleo has done for me is given me greater confidence (healthy confidence) in more ways than one.
  4. Paleo is too expensive!

    • I am a mom on a budget, so we do the best we can. So when grass-fed beef isn’t in the budget (90% of the time), I buy the leanest, cleanest meat I can for a price that I can afford. This is one of the reasons I started this blog – to share good prices on Paleo staples and to share how the “average Joe” can make Paleo possible. We do spend more on groceries than we did before, but the advantages have far outweighed the cost. What I do is pull out cash for groceries and go as Paleo as I can, without overspending. So meal planning is crucial to making it work! There are so many resources available, but you do need to make some time to consider the palettes you are feeding and shop smart!
  5. Paleo is too HARD and too DIFFICULT and requires too much DISCIPLINE. I don’t have it! 

    • I think we can all benefit from discipline and self-control. Delayed gratification is a rare practice these days, and in many ways, has led our culture away from what’s better toward what’s convenient and quick! We are all about time and ease, aren’t we? I can attest to this, I am always going, going, going! Saying “no” to ourselves now, has helped us say “yes” to other things; things that, to us, are of greater value. *For example, my husband was an offensive lineman who is now looks more like a swimmer and is training for a triathlon! You can’t put a price tag on being able to achieve what was once impossible! And we now really enjoy eating Paleo, so the “no” doesn’t feel so bad anymore.
  6. Life is too short to be worried about food. All I need to do is stay active for more than 30 minutes per day, or more, so I can eat what I want but not have it show!

    • We have found, and heard it said, that your overall health is based on 80% of what you eat and 20% of what you do. So all that time on the treadmill doesn’t do much if you putting junk in your fuel tank. You can’t eat junk and feel healthy :(. Brandon, my husband, worked out 3-5 times a week at our CrossFit gym and saw very minimal results in his body image and energy level, before Paleo. BUT, when he combined the two – YEOW! Almost 100 lbs. lost in less than a year! I now tell him he is “eye candy”, lol!
  7. I cannot do it! I am too weak.

    • You can do anything you set your mind to – you just have to prove it to yourself! 
  8. I don’t want to give up my enjoyment of food and be stuck with boring choices.

    • I am not a genius in the kitchen, but I can follow a recipe :). I have prepared some of the most delicious foods that have been anything but boring! And I have explored food groups, such as vegetables (especially squash), that I never thought I would like or even try. Paleo has given me wings to try new things and changed my palette so that I enjoy fresh, clean foods! No boring choices, but in fact, more choices than I had before!
About mcferrenfamily

Outside Ordinary is a place where I can share recipes, tools, and resources that have helped me live in a more healthy way, financially, physically, and spiritually, and emotionally. Thanks for peeking into my little world!

8 responses »

  1. […] might also be helpful to view “My Starting Point” and “Eating Paleo Tip #1“, or “Why Paleo?“ Share this:TwitterFacebookLike […]

  2. Jenny Lindner says:

    I’m curious about something- maybe this is a question for Brandon? You’re training for a tri, and all the regular athlete resources talk about getting enough whole grain carbs (which I can’t do anyway, because I can’t eat wheat) and using gels or shot-blocs, etc. during competition…. I’m training for a marathon, and I can tell when I don’t have enough carbs in my system- I’ve totally crashed after a long run. How do you manage the training and keeping your body fueled with enough carbohydrates on a paleo diet?
    And- thanks Jamie for starting this blog! I’m thinking Matt could benefit from this too, since he has less than no time for exercise between work and school. =)

  3. Whitney says:

    I seriously love your blog, lady. Just thought you should know.

  4. Brandon says:

    Another great help is that we do this together. As a family it makes another thing we can base our relationship on and find unity. It is the best support system you can have. Although not impossible on your own when families unite it is amazing.

    • So true babe! We team up and help support each other. This is a great topic to blog about in the future. Brandon says that the number one thing our CrossFit clients, who eat Paleo, are challenged by is a non-supportive spouse. Thanks for the inspiration to tackle this topic! Thanks for your comment Brand!

Leave a Reply

