BEFORE I tell you what I found, I need to reiterate that I am blogging about how our family does Paleo. I am not an expert, and I do not consider myself to be Paleo strict. But I do try my personal best to follow the guidelines. There are folks who try harder, spend more money, and maybe frown on some of what I do, but hey >more power to them!!!

Ok, I recently quit my job and budgeting is more important now than ever before, and…I hate spending money. So I am always excited to find Paleo items for a good price!

Let’s start with SMITH’S (OREM):


Coconut Oil – 31.5 oz. for $6.99 (as compared to approx. $12-16 at natural food stores)

  • This is typically a substitute for butter or shortening in recipes (not for on top of toast -yuck!) I also use this for cooking & sauteing a lot too! This is a must for your pantry! Many recipes will ask you to melt it, which is very easy to do. Also, coconut oil is great for dry skin and coconut is an AWESOME FAT! That’s right, I said AWESOME FAT! Not all fat is bad – crazy huh? Soon, I will be talking about full fat coconut milk and it’s many uses, so stay tuned…

Lunch meat/deli meat – 8 oz. for $4.49

  • Check the label to see if you approve the ingredients. The biggest thing for us is “No Nitrates or Nitrites Added” (the chemical garbage added to preserve regular deli meat) and no added hormones, etc. I have heard advocates say that we ingest a lot of unnatural chemicals through the meat we consume.

Breakfast Sausage Patties (Pork) – 8 patties for $1.49 / regular priced less than $3.

  • Now these were not as good as I anticipated and my disappointment has to do with flavoring/spices, but my kids thought they were good. I am going to try chopping the patties up and seasoning them a bit and putting them into an omelete or on top of some scrabbled eggs. *Notice the ingredients are simple! When looking for clean meats, you will find that the longer the ingredient list is, the less healthy it is to consume.

I want to add that the quality of meat you eat is a very important component in the Paleo diet – because the whole point is to eat clean meat, not heavily processed meat with bad additives. However, we are a family on a budget and we get as close to legit as possible, but our budget is more important than grass-fed and/or organic meats. However, I do look for sales and if I can find such meats on sale, or at an affordable price, I do buy them! I know they are better, so stay tuned for my next “Grocery Finds” featuring items (including meats & almond flour/meal) I have found at Good Earth Natural Foods!

About mcferrenfamily

Outside Ordinary is a place where I can share recipes, tools, and resources that have helped me live in a more healthy way, financially, physically, and spiritually, and emotionally. Thanks for peeking into my little world!

6 responses »

  1. Heather Hamberger says:

    Jamie,
    I have been following your posts. Paleo eating is quite interesting. I’ve noticed quite a few of the baking recipes call for almond flour. Have you only been able to find that at the good earth stores?

    Thanks

  2. Heather says:

    Jamie, I’ve been reading your posts. Paleo eating is quite interesting. We are always looking for healthier recipes. I see a lot of recipes call for almond flour. Have you only been able to find that at the good earth store? Thanks!
    Heather

    • Heather Hamberger says:

      Just realized didn’t put my last name…and can’t tell who I am from my email!!

      • Hey Heather! So cool about you doing some research! Ok well as far as the almond meal (basically a flour substitute), The Good Earth (Provo, Orem, and AF) has the cheapest price for non-blanched almond flour (or almond meal) in their bulk section (approx. $4.50/lb.). I do not think it’s important as to whether or not it is bleached. You see a regular pre-packaged, maybe 1 lb., bag of almond meal is approx. $12 per bag and I won’t pay that much and I don’t have that much to spend – I am on a budget :). I have not seen almond flour anywhere else cheaper and I love that I can just bag as much as I want, rather than being stuck with a set amount, like with the pre-packaged bags. I use almond flour when I bake treats, “bread” chicken or tilapia, etc. I always like to have at least 1 lb. or more on hand! Let me know if you have any questions, and thanks for your comment! I miss seeing you and the girls 🙂

  3. alayne says:

    Can you eat beef on the paleo diet? My parents have a cattle ranch, so I get my beef from them. It’s organic, range-fed, and extra lean. I should bring you some if you would eat it! 🙂

    • Absolutely Elaine!!! The coin phrase is “eat a face!” Paleo is all about eating any animal with a face (well except maybe dog, cat, and other pets, lol!). Getting meat from your parents must be awesome and I bet you can taste the difference! Lucky you! And yes, we would love to talk about how to get us some! Thanks for your comment! My first one!

Leave a Reply

