Ok, so I am led to tell you that eliminating grains, legumes, and sugar from my diet DID NOT HAPPEN OVERNIGHT. I think this is important to know, because if you consider all the grains and non-Paleo items you eat, you may be asking yourself, “Well then what will I eat?” So if you are not a “cold turkey” kind of person (that would be me), then do this:

1. Start off by making one change a week! Paleo is a big change and I believe you need to allow yourself time to buy into it, rather than jumping into it. I believe this approach is what led us to our convertion.

For example, I used to be obsessed with Costco’s uncooked tortillas that I used for my breakfast burritos each morning. So my first change was to not eat them for a week. Then came getting rid of the roasted garlic Triscuits and cream cheese snack, etc. *With each dietary change, my body saw change as well, which steadily sped up the pace of my commitment to eating Paleo.

2. Don’t just take my word for it , instead let your experience speak for itself.

3. Embrace the fact that its a hard choice (at first) and that it requires disciple. In our opinion, saying “no” to ourselves is a healthy habit that has bled into how we spend money as well. It has helped us use our head rather than our emotions in making big & small decisions.

I hope this helps! Let me know if you have further questions, and if you want details about what Paleo is all about, please click our “Why Paleo?” page and read the “Paleo Parents Pamphlet” or visit some of our Favorite Sites listed on the left. Robb Wolf is the biggest Paleo advocate, so be encouraged to do some research! And remember, no counting, no fad diet, just a new way of eating :)!

About mcferrenfamily

Outside Ordinary is a place where I can share recipes, tools, and resources that have helped me live in a more healthy way, financially, physically, and spiritually, and emotionally. Thanks for peeking into my little world!

2 responses »

  1. These are really fantastic ideas in regarding blogging.
    You have touched some good factors here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  2. […] might also be helpful to view “My Starting Point” and “Eating Paleo Tip #1“, or “Why Paleo?“ Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

Leave a Reply

